VCMRF Ventura County Medical Resource Foundation

vcmrf ventura county medical resource foundation



The 25th Annual David Fainer, MD & Leo Tauber, MD Awards Dinner was held on Thursday, September 6, 2018, from 5:30-9:00 p.m., at the amazing Lloyd-Butler Estate, in Oxnard, CA.  The awards recognized outstanding community contributions by those directly involved in the delivery of health care in Ventura County who, through professional, charitable, and public service activities, has demonstrated they exemplify Dr. Fainer and Dr. Tauber's ideals of generosity, excellence, and integrity.


Over 300 people attended the gala event that included a champagne reception, entertainment by Allegato Music, dessert and silent auctions, followed by a live auction, stand-up for the Children's Resource Program, and the Awards Ceremony - honoring 8 deserving recipients for all they do for their patients and clients in our community.


The late David Fainer, MD and late Leo Tauber, MD served as role models and mentors to many in the medical community.  Exemplary and empathetic professionals, Dr. Fainer and Dr. Tauber were known for their motto, “The secret of care of the patient is caring for the patient.”  The event is always a huge success.  The funds VCMRF raises touch many lives, and help support underserved children and families throughout Ventura County obtain access to health care services and programs, including dental and vision care services for vulnerable, low-income children and seniors in pain, survivorship wellness retreats for women undergoing cancer treatment, and homeless outreach for those less fortunate.   


26th Annual Fainer/Tauber, MD Awards "Night of Stars"


Deserving recipients of the 2019 David Fainer, MD and Leo Tauber, MD Awards include:


  • Hospital Physician: Scott R. Smith, MD
  • Community Physician: Sergio Neira, MD
  • Nurse: Irma Barona, RN
  • Community Service Award: Paul Lenderman
  • Oral Health Specialist: Jeremy Patelzick, DDS
  • Vision Care Specialist: Gary Jacobs, OD
  • Behavioral/Mental Health Professional: Pete Pringle, LCSW
  • Allied Health Professional: Carlos Juarez
  • Trailblazer Award: Richard A. Reisman, MD


Special Thanks - 2018 Supporters

Lucas Johnston, Chair of VCMRF & Vice President/Regional Relationship Manager of Pacific Western Bank and Mary Jarvis, VCMRF Board Member and Public Affairs Director of Kaiser Permanente, along with Auctioneers, Bonnie & Richard Atmore, did an outstanding job presenting the program and recognizing the members of the health care community who embody excellence and dedication. A special gratitude to the amazing Fainer/Tauber, MD event committee members:  Connie Baer, David Bayer, Molly Buck, Heather Donley, Andrew Guerrero, Scott Hern, Marisa Montgomery, RN, Rajinder Rai, Donna Sepulveda-Weber, Pamela Short, Laura Zarate, RN, BSN, and staff members, Victoria Chandler and Jessica Friedman. The staff is extremely grateful to Elena Trevino Design for donating her time and talent in creating all of VCMRF's event marketing materials.  Additionally, thank you to our additional volunteers: Lynne Heuel, Tim Heuel, Gaby Flores, Jess Zaragoza, Kate Cruz, Liz Polley, Giselle Olmos,  and the wonderful Montecito Bank volunteers: Brianna Aguilar, Ashleigh Davis, Angelica Jimenez, Lorena Niazi, Jamie Perez, David Ramirez and Lydia Serrata.



Nomination Form

To nominate a deserving health care provider, please fill out the form below and return it to VCMRF:
2019 Fainer & Tauber, MD Awards Nomination Form 


Past Honorees

To see a list of past honorees, please see the document below:

Fainer & Tauber, MD Award Recipients